Author Topic: have you ever worked as an assistant for a financial advisor?  (Read 3682 times)

WhoopWhoop

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
have you ever worked as an assistant for a financial advisor?
« on: September 07, 2014, 07:24:27 PM »
I used to work as a secretary for a small, independent financial advisor. As a result I learned A LOT about the financial industry and what an advisor can/can't do for you.

Anyone else have experience working for a money manager of some sort? What did you learn?

I'm thinking about interviewing people and writing a series of stories. I'd especially be curious to hear from someone who worked for a mutual fund manager. I'm so curious about how they organize their day and make decisions about what to buy and sell.

Yankuba

• Handlebar Stache
Re: have you ever worked as an assistant for a financial advisor?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2014, 08:39:01 PM »
I was an intern for a financial planner. I learned that the job was 90 percent sales. And you sold the products with the highest fees. It was a good internship because I learned the business was not for me - a Boglehead.

usmarine1975

« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2014, 08:34:36 AM »
I am the Client Services Manager for a fee based firm.  Great experience for me.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2014, 12:06:04 PM »
I learned that the job was 90 percent sales. And you sold the products with the highest fees.

Heh.  Too bad the clients never discovered that insight.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Bank

• Stubble
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2014, 12:39:09 PM »