Author Topic: Harmony p2p lending?  (Read 8208 times)

MashedBanana

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Harmony p2p lending?
« on: November 14, 2014, 09:12:12 PM »
I'm new to investing, just saw an advert on New Zealand TV about harmoney.com/nz peer to peer lending.

The company is only just setting up peer to peer lending in my country and it'll be New Zealand's first platform of the likes.

If you have used this company before for peer to peer lending, what was your experience with them?

Faramir

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Harmony p2p lending?
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2014, 09:26:40 PM »
I've invested about $2,500 so far, starting in late September with $1500 & drip feeding about $100 per week since then.  So far I've received $57.48 in interested plus $85 in principal which I've reinvested into new notes.  So far my return has been about 14% but that's increasing as I start receiving the first payment from newer loans.  Harmoney only show a forecast expected return rather than what you return has been, but mine is 19.37% forecast return.  I've spread my money in mainly A to E grade (I ignore the F grade). I find the A (10% return) to D grade(22% return) loans get snapped up within about 2 days and the E & F ones now struggle to get funded in the 14 day window.  I only invest $25 in each loan for diversification.

I'm very happy with how it's gone so far.

I have no late or written off notes but that's because it's only in the first couple of months.  It will take a few years to see how accurate Harmoney are with their estimated default rates, but I figured even if the default rates are double what Harmoney expect I'll still be making a very healthy return of around 16%.

I'll probably stop at around $3,000 invested & see how it goes.

MashedBanana

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2014, 12:00:06 AM »
Thanks daveg. Which country are you in?

Faramir

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2014, 12:36:51 AM »