Author Topic: Global or US index fund?  (Read 3667 times)

aldrimer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Global or US index fund?
« on: March 26, 2016, 08:19:24 AM »
Hi!
I'm very new to investing and I have a couple of questions.
Where I live (Scandinavia) there's a limited amount of available index funds. Only one fund exists following a US market index (MSCI USA Index), which has total expenses at 0.4%. The other available funds are Global index funds (MSCI Global Index), which all have expenses at 0.3%.
After reading the MMM post on how to make money on stock investments, my gut reaction is to go with the US fund, even though it's a tad more expensive (I definitely would love the Vanguard fund to be available here in Scandinavia..)
However, I'm really not sure which one to go with.

Could I get some tips and advice on which fund to choose?

Thank you very much!

frugledoc

• Pencil Stache
Re: Global or US index fund?
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2016, 08:44:04 AM »
I would go for global index which will have about 50% in us stocks, is more diversified, and surprisingly cheaper. 

Heckler

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2016, 09:13:35 AM »
+1 for world.  Cheaper and more diverse.  Dont get caught up solely in the US bull run.

seattlecyclone

• Walrus Stache
    • My blog
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2016, 09:51:30 AM »
I'd go mostly with the worldwide fund. If you can supplement with a fund that invests only in Scandinavia, or Europe at least, that would be good. A little bit of a bias toward local stocks helps with currency risks. Otherwise I think worldwide investing is the way to go.

aldrimer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2016, 01:51:42 PM »
Thank you guys very much for your answers!