Author Topic: Getting started with investing  (Read 3535 times)

SpiffyEh

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Getting started with investing
« on: April 29, 2018, 06:01:26 PM »
I'm new to the world of investing. I've been reading through a bunch of the articles on the site and I'm interested in getting started with investing in some of those vanguard funds but I'm still confused as to what exactly I should invest in. I've read about re-balancing each year and everything but aren't there tax implications of doing that? This is for post tax investments (I already have my 401k maxed out). I like the idea of the dividend options and just re-investing those over time but I'm a little nervous since I've never done anything like this before.

Any help or guidance would be very much appreciated!

Telecaster

• Magnum Stache
Re: Getting started with investing
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2018, 06:04:03 PM »
Invest in VTSAX right now. That will do 95% of everything you need.  Then spend the next couple years refining your investment strategy. 

GOFU

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2018, 06:50:46 PM »
If your 401(k) is maxed out then you are not new to investing. You are already in the game. What is your 401(k) money invested in?
What is your time horizon?

If you really want help you should post a case study and provide more information.

SpiffyEh

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2018, 07:22:44 PM »
Well, I say new in the sense that I'm actually trying to actively do something. My 401k through work is with vanguard and I just set it up to be in a 2055 retirement account when I initially started putting money into it 5 years ago.