Author Topic: FUSVX and FSTVX  (Read 8038 times)

doneby35

• Bristles
FUSVX and FSTVX
« on: November 05, 2016, 04:15:55 PM »
I'm really a beginner when it comes to investing, but I just recently enrolled in my employer offered 401k, I did not find Vanguard VTSAX so I chose a 100% of my maxed out contribution towards FUSVX (Fidelity's 500 index). I wasn't sure if this was a good decision, so I wanted to check with you guys to see if I did the right thing??

The second question is, I also want to open a tIRA and max that out in addition to my 401k contributions. Is it ok to go with FSTVX (Fidelity's total market index) or go with VTSAX?

Radagast

• Magnum Stache
  • One Does Not Simply Work Into Mordor
Re: FUSVX and FSTVX
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2016, 05:16:22 PM »
What are your other options for the 401k? Is the 500 fund the only good one available? Only list ones with expense ratios below 0.5% or the ten with the lowest expense ratios. There is nothing wrong with an S&P500 fund, though total market will probably be a little better.

It's hard to say about the IRA until we know what the 401k options are. You can use an "extended market index" or "market completion index" which are all the companies not part of the 500, if total US stock market is your thing. Make them equal to 25% of the S&P500 fund to approximate total market.

I suggest adding international stock funds for about a fixed 30% to 50% of the total. Personally, if the S&P500 fund was the only good one in the 401k, I would put 100% of the IRA into Vanguard's international small company index, VSS, or mutual fund equivalent. This would give you small companies and international at the same time while keeping only one fund per account to make things simple.

All the above options are available at both Vanguard and Fidelity.

Frankies Girl

• Magnum Stache
  • Ghouls Just Wanna Have Funds!
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2016, 05:33:21 PM »
I'm a Fidelity only investor.

Both of those are great funds.