Author Topic: Fresh Start  (Read 4744 times)

irishexile

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Fresh Start
« on: April 05, 2014, 02:20:26 PM »
Hi All,

I'm fairly new to this game but committed to making some radical changes in order to get FI as soon as possible and generate more choices about how I spend my time...

Firstly, I'm emigrating to San Francisco from Scotland this summer - and before I get punched in the face for moving to the most expensive city in US, we (wife and three kids) are renting a one bedroom apartment owned by my sister in order to start small and live within our means. This means first port of call is a serious customisation of the space but that's a different post!

Secondly, by emigrating we will have no debts and a clean slate with the odded bonus of about $30k hard-saved cash. This will be the first time in 8 years that we are debt free and have any savings to speak of.

This is where I need advice - as an Irishman and someone with little knowledge of the American financial system, I could use some pointers on the best way to invest this cash in order for it to start making me money. My goal is to get a regular job and implement the plan of saving 50-75% and absorb as much of the excellent advice and support on MMM as possible!

Thanks in advance :)

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
Re: Fresh Start
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2014, 02:58:04 PM »
Welcome Irishexile!

SF is a great city, albeit an expensive one. But, there's plenty of stuff around that is free or nearly free if you care to seek it out. 
As for where to put your long-term savings, a popular choice is Vanguard's low-cost index funds, particularly the SP500 and Total market funds.  I don't know if there's any special restrictions for a foreign worker, but I'd start there (www.vanguard.com).