Author Topic: Flippa  (Read 6108 times)

aclarridge

Flippa
« on: September 25, 2014, 11:42:57 AM »
Has anybody ever used flippa? I was toying with the idea of buying a website or possibly even a mobile app (although I don't really have a smartphone - I wonder if it's even required?).

Some of the stuff for sale there would be for example a website that has a "buy it now" price which is less than its annual profit and apparently requires little to no effort to run. In certain cases it seems way too good to be true.

I'm an engineer and good with computers/coding but not that familiar with web-based programming or blogging - so I'm not the ideal person to be looking at this type of investment. That said, some of you are, so I'd appreciate the insight.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Flippa
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2014, 01:11:05 PM »
I looked into it for awhile, but there was too much I didn't know, and too many unknowns.  It would have been pure gambling/speculation, so I decided to pass.

Someone who educated themself a lot on the relevant topics could likely do fairly well (though you always have the caveat of if it's so good, why is the person selling type thing).
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

aclarridge

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2014, 03:10:56 PM »
Someone who educated themself a lot on the relevant topics could likely do fairly well (though you always have the caveat of if it's so good, why is the person selling type thing).