Author Topic: First Vanguard ETF?  (Read 5126 times)

Mr.GrowingMustache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
First Vanguard ETF?
« on: September 22, 2015, 11:12:38 AM »
Hi all,
I have about $7k of Mutual Funds (WPFRX, and PREMX) that I would like to transfer to and index/stockmarket ETF. And I have been looking at VOO which tracks the S&P500? Anything else I should be looking at? VTI?

I also have a Betterment Build Wealth (approximately 90% stocks, 10% bonds) account with $19k in it which has several Vanguard ETFs ( VTI@16%, VTV@16%, VOE@5%, VBR@5%, and VEA@36%. VWO@10%). So about 42% in US stock market and 46% in the Developed/Developing markets. The more I look at that account the less of a fan I am to those allocations, especially the VEA fund and the state of the global economy compared the US.

I know I should diversify but I feel like I should not allocate almost half my investments in the global economy

I am still new to this, but what is the sentiment around here? Follow an index or there are a few select ETFs that I should be getting?

Thanks

p.s
I should also say that I am risk-tolerant at age 30, almost maxing out my Retirement (90% stock market), and all new savings are going into a low risk emergency fund and house fund.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2015, 11:18:01 AM by Mr.GrowingMustache »

Indexer

• Handlebar Stache
Re: First Vanguard ETF?
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2015, 05:03:48 PM »
No need to make it complicated.

VTI + VXUS = almost all stocks everywhere.

Vanguard has a nice chart I can't find at the moment that shows being 30-40% international actually lowers the risk in the portfolio.

60% VTI 40% VXUS works fine for me. Average ER = 0.086%.  Where else can you buy the whole world for 0.086%? ;)

BarkyardBQ

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2015, 05:10:41 PM »

Vanguard has a nice chart I can't find at the moment that shows being 30-40% international actually lowers the risk in the portfolio.

https://personal.vanguard.com/pdf/icriecr.pdf