Author Topic: First time investor - I don't know where to start  (Read 1796 times)

lostinfinance

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
First time investor - I don't know where to start
« on: February 24, 2017, 02:18:33 AM »
Hi All,

I am looking for ideas to invest some money. I have zero knowledge about trust fonds, bonds, stocks, etc, I have been going through many forums to try understand how this works, but there is so much information that its a bit overwhelming.

To give you an idea of my current situation. Im a European citizen based in South East Asia in an expatriate position. Some details:

Im in my mid-30s, and work for a French company.  My work contract is based in France. I declare my income in France.
   I have about 80K euros savings in a French Bank Account.
   Monthly income surplus:  1500 2000 euros per month.
   I get a bonus once a year of about 15-20K after tax. This means that I am saving 35-40K euros per year.
   One mortgage. Still 18 years to go, the rate is very low (2.3%) so I dont want to put my savings here.
   I have the public french retirement plan (not much), and a small retirement plan set by my company (I put 390 euros per month, and they match it).

Since I arrived to Asia, many financial advisors have contacted me (Devere, Globaleye, Farringdon,etc). I met with one guy from Globaleye and he proposed the Quantum RL360. After reading the following link here, I realized it was a very bad idea so I rejected it.

http://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/investor-alley/i-dun-goofed/

Now, I am back to square one and to be honest, I dont even know where to start.  I would like some ideas on how to invest part of my savings, but also set up a retirement plan. I also would like to set an education saving plan for my son (1 year old).

Could you please give me some pointers?

seanmerron

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Early Retirement Roadmap
Re: First time investor - I don't know where to start
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2017, 08:41:02 AM »