Author Topic: Financial newbie (canadian edition)  (Read 20829 times)

fb132

Financial newbie (canadian edition)
« on: May 15, 2015, 06:09:29 AM »
Currently, I have 25K$ in RRSP with RBC mutual funds and about 14K$ in the TFSA RBC mutual funds. Now I know, my mutual funds have high MER (2%), butI have 0 clue on how ETF works and when I read about them, I am confused, I don't even know where to start so that scares me from making the jump to the next level of investing.

Should I look for a financial advisor? What are my next steps. I even read the canadian couch potato site and they talk about vanguard, but I really don't understand how to start that model or what to look for. When I go to the vanguard canada website, it says shares can be bought through a broker or financial advisor. I am telling you, I am a terrible newbie when it comes to investments, I understand absolutely nothing, I basically need a baby type tutorial that explains me like a child how to do something when it comes to investments. So please fellow Mustachians, help me out on my next step to not only understand how it works, but what I should do. I have read different posts here on investments, but I still don't have a clue on what to do or where to start.

swick

• Magnum Stache
Re: Financial newbie (canadian edition)
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2015, 06:27:00 AM »
Don't get stressed fb132! i JUST went through this whole process - actually I have all my money transferred and sitting in my Questrade account and am buying today :)

My thread is here:http://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/investor-alley/canadian-first-time-setting-up-investment-plan-please-help!/ It is a great place to start!

My suggestions:
 - Read my thread, ask questions - our community is great!
 - Open a Questrade account (let me know if you want my referral code, they are offering some great cash bonuses)
 - Transfer accounts from RBC to Questrade. Questrade will cover these costs if your accounts are big enough, I think 25.000.