Author Topic: Fed Interest Raise Increases and Bond Risk  (Read 2625 times)

Richie

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Fed Interest Raise Increases and Bond Risk
« on: March 17, 2017, 06:22:10 PM »
Greetings,

I keep hearing people say (not here, elsewhere) that the bond market may not be so good in the foreseeable future, due to the fact that the fed is raising interest rates.  I am still a newbie when it comes to these things.  Does this mean that bonds may not be as safe as conventional wisdom states to drop an emergency fund into?

SwordGuy

• Walrus Stache
Re: Fed Interest Raise Increases and Bond Risk
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2017, 06:45:30 PM »
I've been learning about bonds the last few months.  I make no pretense to be an expert.

But I think if I end up using bonds, I think it will be as a bond ladder.  I wouldn't intend to sell a bond early to raise money, I would just wait until the next one matured and returned my funds.  That way, I would never be at the risk of the bonds selling at a big discount because the interest rate went up.

One thing I have yet to figure out is how much work and how much time that would take to set up and maintain.

VoteCthulu

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2017, 07:52:32 PM »
For short term money, medium to long term bond funds are not the safest invesment, since rate changes are likely to reduce the immediate value.

Short term Bond funds are ok, but you can currently get more return from a high interest savings account.

For long term money, bond funds are still fine, because the short term hit when rates go up will eventually turn into higher annual bond yields. Rebalancing according to your asset allocation will help capture this future growth as current prices decline.

Individual bonds are a whole different ball of wax, that you really need to educate yourself thoroughly on before buying.

Heckler

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2017, 11:36:09 PM »