Author Topic: Fear and doubt  (Read 6156 times)

forestj

• Stubble
Fear and doubt
« on: February 06, 2015, 01:33:42 AM »
First of all, let me introduce myself. I'm 23, I'm working for a software consulting company, (70k), and I'm new to investing.
I agree with almost everything that MMM writes, but I am not sure I agree with his investing strategy. I think it was a great investing strategy for 1998-2015, when it was implemented, but I don't expect it to work, or work as well, between now and 2035.

When I look at the world today, I see growing inequality, dwindling resources, and I also see some interesting things happening in the financial world: The '08 market turmoil and subsequent QE program. These things weren't really a concern 20 years ago.

Ultimately, it looks like a pyramid scheme to me.
I think of money as a promise, given by our economy, for an amount of work done in the future. I work every weekday for some money, and because I am a privileged person who has a skill which is in high demand right now, I can indirectly/partially "employ" 100s of other people to feed, shelter, and clothe me. I pay everyone who grows, inspects, and manufactures the food I eat, and I pay everyone who helped bring gasoline to my car so I can drive to work.

Our financial system is very good at making promises. In fact, its fundamental structure relies on exponential growth of the rate at which these promises can be redeemed. So far this has worked out pretty well because we have always been able to produce machines which increase economic efficiency at a rate which matches the exponential growth of promises. In other words, what used to take 100 man hours to accomplish now takes 0.01 man hours, due to the exponential growth of machine efficiency.