Author Topic: Exit bonds to cash?  (Read 13629 times)

tbfa

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Exit bonds to cash?
« on: August 26, 2018, 06:34:52 PM »
I'm no expert on bonds, but I've been doing some reading.  VBTLX and other long-term bond yields are around 3%.  Inflation is about 3%.  So real returns right now are 0%. 

Also, interest rates are at near historic lows but are rising.  Bond prices fall as rates rise. 

Whichever way you look at it, bonds show a bad return for the risk over the next several years.

I've been thinking of exiting bonds and moving to cash in high interest checking rates.  I can get 4% interest after jumping through hoops at local credit unions.  This will at least be a 1% return.  I'll pay 15% taxes on the interest, but it will at least be a real, positive return.

Thoughts?  Anyone else exiting bonds?  I've had a 90/10 split up till now.

One

• Stubble
Re: Exit bonds to cash?
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2018, 07:10:07 PM »
If you can get 4% then you should take it

DreamFIRE

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2018, 08:46:14 PM »
Core inflation is closer to 2%.  This is a key metric the Fed watches.

As part of a move to a more conservative AA for my last year approaching FIRE, I shifted a significant amount of index fund stash in my 457B & 401a into a fixed interest fund that is part of those same plans where I also continue to make pre-tax contributions, pay no admin fee (on this particular fund), and get a guaranteed 3% return.  It's backed in large part by bonds, but I'm never had much invested in bond funds and never directly in individual bonds themselves.

jacoavluha

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2018, 09:28:48 PM »
I'm no expert on bonds, but I've been doing some reading.  VBTLX and other long-term bond yields are around 3%.  Inflation is about 3%.  So real returns right now are 0%. 

Also, interest rates are at near historic lows but are rising.  Bond prices fall as rates rise.