Author Topic: ETFs vs Mutual Funds and some asset allocation advice please  (Read 6330 times)

caracarn

• Handlebar Stache
ETFs vs Mutual Funds and some asset allocation advice please
« on: February 01, 2017, 03:26:09 PM »
I'm sorry if this was already discussed as part of another thread, but I wanted to get a clear answer to this topic and not search and maybe find partial information.

I have been using Betterment for a couple years to try it out switching from previously using Vanguard and Fidelity.  With the fee change yesterday I am reconsidering the "need" and have decided to move back to Vanguard.

I've seen some discussions about the tax benefits etc of ETF mentioned in threads, but I am trying to understand once I make this transfer is is best to put my money back into the ETFs I has or to use mutual funds.  What are the pros and cons?  I believe mutual funds leave no cash as I can buy fractional shares.  I make a weekly contribution into my taxable account and if I have 10 assets (mutual fund or ETF) as I did in Betterment I'm trying to understand. 

Not to muddy the discussion too much, I also have seen debates about just using 3 funds to get a similar result.  Trying to see if the effort to split into 10 is worth it or if I am just better with 10.  I prefer a 90/10 mix so the LifeStrategy Fund only lets me go 80/20 so I'd prefer to not do that, but maybe I'm deluding myself into the extra growth I will get some this difference.

Richie

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: ETFs vs Mutual Funds and some asset allocation advice please
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2017, 07:43:21 PM »
I will be following this thread, as I'm currently making the same kind of decision.  I'm especially curious about the fractional share thing.  At the moment, I can only afford to dump $50 biweekly into my IRA.  Individual shares can be expensive!  It might keep me with Betterment if I have to let that money sit idle.

caracarn

• Handlebar Stache