Author Topic: ETF investment method over a year  (Read 3641 times)

Wadiman

• Stubble
ETF investment method over a year
« on: September 28, 2014, 03:59:01 AM »
    Hi MMErs

Australian newbie here so apologies if this seems like a very basic question.

I have worked out my investment strategy (five ETFs) after reading here and elsewhere.  Target percentage allocations are:

* Australian Share market Index ETF - Vanguard VAS.AX (40%)
    * US Market Index ETF - Vanguard VTS.AX (20%)
    * All World Index (ex-US) Index - Vanguard VEU.AX (20%)
    * Emerging markets index - iShares IEM.AX (10%)
    * Australian Property index - State Street or Vanguard SLF.AX or VAP.AX(10%)[/li]

I will be investing $3200 per month via direct EFT purchase (12 purchases per annum = $132 in brokerage costs) and my question is how to make the specific transactions? 

My current thoughts are to think about investing on a proportional basis annually - that is:
40% roughly equals 5 months (4.8 months)
20% roughly equals 2 months (2.4 months)
10% roughly equals 1 month (0.83 months)

Please note that I have other investments by way of superannuation (Australia's equivalent to IRA I think) and an investment property so I have some diversification.  My Superannuation fund currently has 30% cash/fixed interest.

So - I would buy the 40% allocation 5 months each year, two of the 20% allocations = 2*2 months = 4 months per year, and two of the 10% allocations = 2 months per year.  That adds up to 11 months which would mean maybe one of the 20% allocations one year and the other the following year.

As to what to decide to purchase in any one month - I would look at what offers the best value for that month and buy that.

How does this sound?

How have you more experienced MMErs done this?

« Last Edit: September 28, 2014, 01:55:17 PM by Wadiman »

RichMoose

• Pencil Stache
  • RiskManagement
    • The Rich Moose | A Better Canadian Finance Blog
Re: ETF investment method over a year