Author Topic: Estimates on what kind of Mortgage I could qualify for?  (Read 1085 times)

ILikeDividends

• Bristles
Estimates on what kind of Mortgage I could qualify for?
« on: July 02, 2019, 03:15:13 PM »
Is anyone willing to offer a non-binding opinion of whether, and how much
of a mortgage I might qualify for based purely on hypotheticals?  Those being:

1) $1994 Social Security income
2) A $100,000 1st Mortgage *
3) Assume a credit score of over 700
4) No personal debt except for a credit card balance that I pay off every month.
5) I am a veteran and might qualify for a loan from the VA?
6) I would reside in the home

* I don't need to finance the whole amount, but I'd like to know how much of it I might be able to qualify for.

I don't want to include any income or capital gains for qualifying; assuming I even could do that.

No mortgage company will give me even a guess, only an actual quote.  And they can't give me a quote yet because of certain unresolved issues which I will disclose here if you think it relevant. 

Pointers to an on-line calculator would be appreciated, too.  The only things I can find are portals to hook you up with an actual lender who I already know won't give me what I want.

Anyone game to try?
« Last Edit: July 02, 2019, 03:41:43 PM by ILikeDividends »

August26th

• Stubble
Re: Estimates on what kind of Mortgage I could qualify for?
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2019, 07:29:43 AM »
Napkin math...

I will assume the $1994 SS income is non-taxable. In that case, it can be grossed up 25%, so your total monthly qualifying income is $2492.50.

If your lender requires you to stay at or under a 45% debt-to-income ratio, then the sum of ALL monthly debts that would show up on a credit report, including the proposed mortgage payment, would need to stay under $1121 per month. As long as the payments stay under that amount, you should be fine.