Author Topic: educating myself on investing?  (Read 6111 times)

The Money Monk

• Pencil Stache
educating myself on investing?
« on: February 20, 2013, 09:33:07 AM »
Rather than ask a myriad of specific investing questions, I would like to know what you guys recommend for educating ones self on investing.

I know just enough to get me in trouble probably.

My goal is to have a highly diversified portfolio that is geared towards wealth building for early retirement in 10 to 15 years.

What books, websites, videos, etc can you all recommend to educate myself?

I am not a complete novice, i'm at the point where I am more interested in practical stuff like valuating individual dividend stocks and things like that than I am about broad investment strategies

any advice is appreciated, thanks. 

unplugged

• Stubble
Re: educating myself on investing?
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2013, 09:40:25 AM »
Thank you for this post. I need the baby steps myself.

KingCoin

• Pencil Stache
  • Achieved FI @ 30
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2013, 10:03:39 AM »
I am more interested in practical stuff like valuating individual dividend stocks and things like that than I am about broad investment strategies

You could start with something like Fundamental Analysis for Dummies by Krantz. Should be more useful than say Ben Graham for a beginner.

I'll add the caveat that doing proper fundamental analysis is difficult, enormously time consuming, and unlikely to give you any edge over the professionals who study specific stocks/sectors for a living. However, if you insist on buying individual stocks, it's probably worth at least getting fluent in the jargon so you can read analyst reports and company filings intelligently.

The Money Monk

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2013, 10:44:44 AM »

You could start with something like Fundamental Analysis for Dummies by Krantz. Should be more useful than say Ben Graham for a beginner.