Author Topic: Dumb Question: Vanguard Brokerage Account vs Non-Brokerage Account  (Read 22564 times)

lcerrito

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I have a dumb question... I've been investing with Vanguard for several years now (Target Date Roth IRA and taxable VFINX), and when I rolled over my previous employers 401k into a regular Vanguard IRA, it created a Brokerage Account. I also noticed that below the names of my Roth and VFINX, it says "Upgrade" and this appears to lead to the making of a Brokerage account.

So my dumb question is: What is the difference between what I have now and a Brokerage account? Is it just letting me diversify under the same account? Are there additional fees to do so?

Thanks for your help and patience with this newbie question. Also, if anyone knows of a way to rename the accounts, let me know. :) Seeing my name three times is not exactly helpful in figuring out which account is which.

GrowingTheGreen

• Bristles
    • Growing The Green
Re: Dumb Question: Vanguard Brokerage Account vs Non-Brokerage Account
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2016, 12:01:54 PM »
I'm a little perplexed, probably because I can't see what your screen looks like. Here's my best guess:

Vanguard groups accounts into retirement and non-retirement accounts. Your IRAs should be in a retirement account and your taxable should be in a non-retirement account. I believe their brokerage account is an account that you would use to buy non-mutual fund shares--like an ETF or individual stock. Did you roll your 401k into an ETF? If so, that could've caused the creation of a brokerage account.

This sort of thing is probably worth a call to Vanguard.

MustacheAndaHalf

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2016, 12:50:12 PM »
The "upgrade" button in your Vanguard account groups the mutual funds and ETFs into one place.  Nothing is sold, no fees are charged, but your screen looks different.  It's more compact.  Vanguard has pages explaining it and answering questions here: