Author Topic: Dollar cost averaging a UK Government Bond ETF  (Read 4047 times)

BlikuBluku

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Dollar cost averaging a UK Government Bond ETF
« on: October 20, 2017, 09:13:50 AM »
Hi guys,

Complete newbie here trying to get money smart and somewhat of a late bloomer on the wrong side of 25. I need advice from someone, anyone willing to offer it - specifically surrounding UK Government Bond ETFs. I guess my aim is to create a portfolio that allows me a defensive and passive approach to investing as I currently work full-time, I don't have the time realistically to invest any differently. I intend to diversify across equities and bonds using ETFs making them easily trackable but investing more into equities and then using bonds as a fallback, while re-investing the dividends for compounding - all of this will be operated inside a SIPP and I haven't really thought about anything past that. I leave the higher-risk investing separate from my SIPP, so I'm thinking a purely, low-risk, large exposure and long-term strategy - it's just that my understanding of bonds is not great.

I feel I do have the basic understanding of investing yet feel that my analytical skills are lacking a little in order to effectively make an informed decision on the most cost-effective and financially rewarding investment. Therefore I thought best to try and gather some advice from the kind folk on this board. As an example, if I was to invest in the Vanguard UK Gilt UCITS ETF (VGOV) with monthly investments of £100 to take advantage of Dollar/Pound cost averaging, over an indefinite period and wrapped inside a SIPP, would the cost of monthly broker fees make this type of investment not worthwhile and would I be better off investing a lump sum of £1,200 a year into this ETF instead?