Author Topic: Doing a Roth Conversion ("Backdoor Roth") + a broader asset allocation question  (Read 3637 times)

bleumanchu

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Seeking advice from the collective wisdom. I’m currently in the process of doing a Roth conversion from a Traditional IRA for my wife and me(so-called “backdoor Roth”, as our earnings disqualify us from Roth contributions via the typical route), but I’m trying to make a sensible decision on what assets to put in our Roths.

I will outline some of our pertinent financials below, and will give any additional details I neglect to provide if prompted to do so. Note that I’m trying to keep things relatively simple for myself as I’m still fairly new to investing in general, and have been contemplating a portfolio of just three categories of low-cost index funds—US Stock, International Stocks, and US Bonds. Having said that, I’m open to discussion of other options as well as adjusting my current percentages allocated as well.

Other current assets (with allocation breakdowns where appropriate; rounded to the nearest hundred dollars for simplification):

My 401(k): $26,000; 70% VTSSX (Total US  Stock Market Index), 10% VTSGX (Total International Stock Index), 20% VBTSX (Total US Bond Index)

DW’s 401(k): $31,200; Same as above

My 457(b) [JUST discovered I had this available one pay cycle prior]: $670; Percentages are the same as my 401(k)

An old 403(b) of mine still sitting in an Fidelity account: $8200; 60% Spartan Total US Stock Index, 20% Spartan International Stock Index, 10% Spartan US Bond Index

HSA: $2683.89 [not enough here to start investing yet, but soon]

Emergency fund: Probably overfunded, but a discussion for another day

Real Estate: $0—we rent, and own no other properties at present