Author Topic: Does American Funds really beat the market?  (Read 9733 times)

thorbjorn88

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Does American Funds really beat the market?
« on: March 15, 2017, 07:21:16 PM »
This add popped up on my facebook feed and I clicked it. Basically American Funds shows how a Vanguard Index 500 account would have done with $10,000 starting in 1976 and running through 2016 compared to four of their funds. I'm very new to stocks and investments and would love to hear what someone who know what they're talking about thinks of this. So what do you think of their claim?

https://www.americanfunds.com/individual/insights/investment-insights/five-american-funds-that-beat-the-first-index-funds-lifetime-results.html?cid=sm_fb_10224

East River Guide

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Does American Funds really beat the market?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2017, 07:32:59 PM »
Some will do better, some will do worse.  Problem is knowing ahead of time which are which. 

Ricksun

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2017, 07:37:14 PM »
Sounds like a common brokerage tactic.  Start 50 funds, track them over 10 years, close the bottom 45 and you've got yourself a track record of exemplary performance in all of your active funds!  Who wouldn't want to pay a 5% upfront premium to invest with a proven long term winner??

thorbjorn88

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2017, 07:44:37 PM »
Yeah, I figured they were just cherry picking favorable accounts. Plus I didn't read the fine print super thoroughly but I think they only accounted for fees at the beginning not yearly.

Radagast

• Magnum Stache
  • One Does Not Simply Work Into Mordor
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2017, 08:13:06 PM »