Author Topic: Do insurance earnings count in calculating income for Accredited Investor status  (Read 5038 times)

Mister Fancypants

• Bristles
When calculating income to be qualified as an Accredited Investor, do insurance earning like LTD and SS count as income?

If so do you count them as is or would you gross them up since they are considered net earnings based on a former gross pay and if the pay was still being earning it would be higher and the calculation would be different.

Thanks,
-Jay

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
No.  It is earned income or net worth.  Those are not examples of earned income.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Mister Fancypants

• Bristles
So if you are considered Accredited one year based on both your earnings plus your spouses earnings, but in subsequent years your spouses earnings are replaced by insurance payments but you still bring home the same amount of money in total you lose the status?

Something about that just doesn't sit right with me...

footenote

• Pencil Stache
  • MMMing in MN
Yes - If you don't qualify on assets and you no longer qualify on earned income, you are no longer an accredited investor.

Another Reader

• Walrus Stache
Hmmmmm....the requirement of the income being earned income is not in the SEC definition itself. 

7.a natural person with income exceeding $200,000 in each of the two most recent years or joint income with a spouse exceeding $300,000 for those years and a reasonable expectation of the same income level in the current year