Author Topic: Do I NEED a Roth IRA when I have a Roth 401K?  (Read 7006 times)

Tonedover

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Do I NEED a Roth IRA when I have a Roth 401K?
« on: April 20, 2015, 02:38:59 PM »
Hi -Fledgling Mustachian here. Mid-thirties in age.  i'd like some input if i need a Roth IRA.

Facts:
- I have an employer PreTax 401K AND an employer Roth 401K
- In this program i can choose from several well performing index funds for my contributions
- On the PreTax 401K they will match my contributions up to 6%. (the match goes exclusively to company stock of course)
- On the Roth 401K there is no match, but i can contribute  up to 50% of my pay.
- Currently, I contribute 6% to the 401K (to get the full match) and another 10% to the Roth 401K

Now, , im just new to the game of cutting costs and saving aggressively, but i know i can easily squeeze a few more percentage points out of my paycheck to put into another Roth product be it the Roth IRA or the Roth 401K

***The QUESTION IS - do I add my further pay i intend to start saving to the Roth 401K or open a new Roth IRA and put these further funds into that after each paycheck?

(Another way of asking - Since i can add quite a bit more to the Roth 401K before i max it out, is it even necessary for me to open a Roth IRA)

Whats the difference, if any? (BESIDES the choices in index funds)   Do they behave the same? 

(*Sorry in advance if there are other threads to this, but all i could find was discussion about PreTax401K vs Roth401K, nothing talking about all three options at once)
« Last Edit: April 20, 2015, 03:08:59 PM by Tonedover »

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Do I NEED a Roth IRA when I have.....
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2015, 02:51:44 PM »
Whats the difference, if any? (BESIDES the choices in index funds)   Do they behave the same? 
Not sure to what difference you refer.

Traditional investments are tax-free now but you pay when withdrawing.
Roth investments have been taxed now but are tax-free when withdrawing.