Author Topic: Do I actually want to take the full 401(k) contribution?  (Read 601 times)

cosine88

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Do I actually want to take the full 401(k) contribution?
« on: February 04, 2021, 08:30:38 AM »
I am 32.
- 81k salary
- 12k bonus
- "Rent where I live" but also have one rental property with $900 cash flow/month before maintenance.
- Side hustle as a real estate agent. I'm relatively new at it, in 2020 I closed 3 deals for a sweet $60k before taxes, but I am not good at really marketing, so it's mostly friends and family and etc, so growing slowly. I have one smaller deal($10k) lining up so far in 2021.

My 401(k) match is a "half match" -- if I contribute 8%, they'll contribute up to 4% as a match.

Vesting period:
12 months: 33% (I started this job in Oct 2020 so I am 3.5 months in)
24 months: 66%
36 months: 100%

My dilemma is:
- I'm in data science, but I'm new to it, so this salary is actually pretty low. So I see myself switching companies soon. So I might not get very far into the vesting period at my current company.
- If I get a new and better job 18 months in, I'll only have 33% vested of 4%, that's only ~1.33% of my salary they'd actually match.
- If my income goes up from a new job, I'll have higher taxes in future years, so the tax deduction will be more effective later, so theoretically I would want to take the tax hit now.

If I don't take the 401(k) match, and don't contribute much, that's more money I can use towards another rental property, and I'll wrap up my own commission into the down payment.

Is there anything else I should consider? I rolled my former 401(a) into a tIRA.

Glenstache

• Magnum Stache
  • FI(lean) working on the "RE"
Re: Do I actually want to take the full 401(k) contribution?
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2021, 09:15:56 AM »
My general feeling is that matching is free money and should be taken when possible. Generally speaking what you are discussing is an opportunity cost decision.