Author Topic: DFA funds - are they worth it?  (Read 7217 times)

evme

• Bristles
DFA funds - are they worth it?
« on: May 24, 2018, 05:06:43 PM »
I have access to DFA funds through my financial adviser, and I'm trying to decide if the added expense ratio is worth it. Some of the DFA emerging market funds have expense ratios of 0.5% - 0.7%, which is quite high.

Comparable funds from Schwab (SCHE or SCHC) have an expense ratio of only 0.13%/0.12%. That's a big difference from DFA's funds.

So, do you think the DFA funds are worth the extra expense? I believe in the past they have often outperformed most index funds even with the extra fees, although haven't been doing as well the past couple years.

Radagast

• Magnum Stache
  • One Does Not Simply Work Into Mordor
Re: DFA funds - are they worth it?
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2018, 10:36:12 PM »
I have no direct experience. I am skeptical that paying (say) 0.5% to an advisor and then 0.5-0.7% to a fund company will allow any possibility of outperformance. With IUSV and VIOV you can get all your small and value by yourself for about 0.12%. Harder internationally, but good emerging market and international small (FNDE, FNDC, EFV, SCZ, and more especially in vanilla Vanguard funds) are available for 0.4% and less. Saving 0.8% on fund and advisor fees is a gigantic head start.

evme

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2018, 02:25:06 AM »
I have no direct experience. I am skeptical that paying (say) 0.5% to an advisor and then 0.5-0.7% to a fund company will allow any possibility of outperformance. With IUSV and VIOV you can get all your small and value by yourself for about 0.12%. Harder internationally, but good emerging market and international small (FNDE, FNDC, EFV, SCZ, and more especially in vanilla Vanguard funds) are available for 0.4% and less. Saving 0.8% on fund and advisor fees is a gigantic head start.