Author Topic: DCA or big buy: how do I move a lot of cash into the market?  (Read 7316 times)

what

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
DCA or big buy: how do I move a lot of cash into the market?
« on: March 17, 2012, 03:13:57 PM »
I'm a long-time saver currently sitting on a lot of unproductive cash, wanting to build an investment portfolio. For the equities portion, I'd like to invest about $250,000. Should I simply invest x per month to gradually build the portfolio and take advantage of dollar cost averaging (DCA) over the next 250,000/x months? Or should I make a big buy to get the whole sum into the market now?

I am an investing novice; my gut feeling is that I should start slowly for the benefit of dollar cost averaging. This will also give me a chance to get used to the ups and downs of the markets gradually. On the other hand, I've grown uncomfortable sitting on a pile of unproductive cash.

To clarify, I'm not looking for advice on WHAT to invest in; I simply want to know HOW -- quickly or slowly -- to bring a big chunk of my net worth into the market.

It probably makes little difference, but I live in Canada.

Thanks for your advice in advance.

Chris

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: DCA or big buy: how do I move a lot of cash into the market?
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2012, 03:46:10 PM »
Or should I make a big buy to get the whole sum into the market now?

^Not this.

As a long-time saver, you will likely need some time to become accustomed to the gyrations of the market. The benefits of DCA is that you automatically end up with more shares when prices are low and fewer when prices are high. Over a long period of time, you'll effectively be buying at the average price.  So you won't beat the market this way, but you won't be playing roulette either.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2012, 04:09:49 PM »
Another vote for DCA.