Author Topic: Course of Action - Suggestions  (Read 5719 times)

hope2retire

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Course of Action - Suggestions
« on: May 25, 2015, 10:18:04 AM »
Hi,
I am a newbie to this forum and have been reading as much as possible so that I can invest and build my portfolio.

Looking for information on what kind of accounts I have to look into or open. From my limited understanding, i am leaning towards the Vanguard funds VTSMX or VTSAX. My question is, can I take money out of these funds as an when i wish?

Also, what should I do with the shares at the end of the year, hold on to it or liquidate and move it to one of the accounts (if so, retirement or non-retirement taxable accts). I have to plan this because I am not really positive, that the company would out perform these other funds. I buy these shares because i get equal employer match up until certain percentage.

Thanks
hope2retire

« Last Edit: July 13, 2018, 01:34:51 PM by hope2retire »

forummm

• Walrus Stache
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Course of Action - Suggestions
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2015, 10:29:04 AM »
If you have a taxable account at Vanguard, you can add and remove money at will. If you take money out they want you to wait 2 months before adding money back to the *same* fund again. But you can add money to a different fund for those 2 months.

But you should also put money in retirement accounts. Those funds should not be removed until you are ready to retire (at whatever age). The advantage is that you cut your taxes by using them. It's a huge benefit. You can more than double what you are putting into your 401k--to $18k per year that you contribute (your employer contributions are on top of that). And you can start an IRA at Vanguard as well, putting in $5500 for you, and $5500 for your wife too each year.

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2015, 11:38:46 AM »
My question is, can I take money out of these funds as an when i wish?