Author Topic: Convincing My Boss to Offer a 401k  (Read 2158 times)

kroozin

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Convincing My Boss to Offer a 401k
« on: March 12, 2019, 08:50:38 AM »
I've been working at my current company for almost 5 years now. When I started we were essentially a startup, but we've grown pretty significantly since then. In the past my boss has been hesitant about offering a 401k (it took me 4 years-ish to convince them to offer health insurance), but I really want to give another go at trying to convince him.

The only issue is I'm not even really sure what I should be researching. I understand the benefit for employees, but should I be looking for a financial professional to come in and give a presentation? Are there options that I should look into and present to him myself? My only experience with something like this was my last job where they had a financial planner come in and walk us through all of our options.

Also, assuming that my boss opts not to offer a 401k, am I just out of luck on that front? I have an HSA and an IRA, but everything I read is telling me I should be maxing a 401k next.

MDM

• Senior Mustachian

kroozin

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Convincing My Boss to Offer a 401k
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2019, 11:19:13 AM »
MDM to the rescue once again....thank you!

Update: Follow up after reading those: How do I go about researching Third Party Administrators? In the past my employer has just provided one, and the only one I've worked with personally is Northwestern, who I'm gathering isn't a great option. I tried googling "401k third party administrators" but I just get ads for Fidelity and a bunch of articles explaining what a TPA is.

Is there something specific I can search for locally to get a good look around?
« Last Edit: March 12, 2019, 12:56:39 PM by kroozin »

MDM

• Senior Mustachian

bwall

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2019, 02:12:32 PM »