Author Topic: Confused about IRAs  (Read 3133 times)

mudstache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Confused about IRAs
« on: March 02, 2017, 05:30:48 PM »
I'm pretty new to MMM, and very new to investing.  Since finding this site, I am now maxing out my 401(k) contributions, and my HSA account, and funneling all of our new mustachian savings into a taxable Vanguard index fund.  I have filled out the case study workbook, which I think tells me that I make too much for a Traditional IRA, so I am thinking about maxing out two Roth IRAs for this year (one for me, one for my husband) before putting more money into the taxable account.  But I keep getting confused and turned around reading posts in this forum and linked articles. 

I'm happy to provide more info if this isn't enough:

In 2016, our AGI was $167,000.  Between a recent promotion, my annual raise, and a generous bonus year, I will gross over $200k in 2017.  My spouse is a SAHP, and not currently making any taxable income.  Is Roth our only IRA option?  Should I contribute to a tIRA anyway, even with no immediate tax benefit (or do I have that part wrong?)?  Forgo all IRAs and go straight to more index funds?  I have read the investment order sticky a few times, but I still am not quite sure which IRAs apply to us.

Thanks very much for your time and consideration.  This mustachian thing has been really fun to jump into this year!

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Confused about IRAs
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2017, 07:59:38 PM »
Between a recent promotion, my annual raise, and a generous bonus year, I will gross over $200k in 2017.  My spouse is a SAHP, and not currently making any taxable income.  Is Roth our only IRA option?
Depends on your exact MAGI, based on IRA Deduction Limits and IRA Contribution Limits.

See also Backdoor Roth IRA - Bogleheads if your income is/becomes much higher than $200K.