Author Topic: College Grad with good job, what to do with the money?  (Read 13169 times)

unexpectedmoney

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
College Grad with good job, what to do with the money?
« on: May 21, 2012, 11:38:44 PM »
Current Topic: I'm currently wondering how much to contribute to a 401k. I'd like to buy a house ASAP (not that I'm close, but I mean thats my goal). I don't believe there's a first time home buyer clause that would let me withdraw from my 401k, only my Roth IRA, is that correct? If that's the case, should I not max out my 401k? Maybe do something like 10-15%? 22% of my salary would put me right at the limit of $17k.

EDIT: This information is updated as of 9/7/12 because I got a new job and left my old company. I'm looking forward to feedback given my updated financial situation. Thank you as always!

I am a 22 year old (23 in 3 weeks) college graduate. I work in the Software Industry. The company I work for hires me through a contracting company, and I'm making roughly 65k/year (I'm hourly, but thats about the conversion). I just got a new full time job for $72k/year. The contracting company offers a 401k with a 25% company match, but I will have to be an active employee through them on Dec 31 2012 to get it. I haven't opened the 401k because I'm not sure if I will be an employee with them then... I might be full time (not contracted) or I might just find a new job instead. I'm not too sure yet about that.  I take home after taxes about $3800 a month, and I spend about $1400 a month, so I think I'm doing really good savings-wise.

I can choose to save in the traditional 401(k), the Roth 401(k), or a combination of the two. They provide a company match of 40% of each dollar up to the first 5% of eligible compensation. The match applies on the combined total of your traditional 401(k) and Roth 401(k) contributions, up to the match limit.