Author Topic: Check my investment order - low income, no employer plans  (Read 2433 times)

Tass

• Magnum Stache
Check my investment order - low income, no employer plans
« on: July 06, 2018, 03:44:03 PM »
I just want a little reassurance before I change my direct deposit info. I'm about to max out my Roth IRA for the first time, which means I need a new account to save in for the rest of the year. I am a graduate student one year into MMM-style saving, with low expenses, no debt, and no immediate-future financial upheavals since my degree will take 2-3 more years. I save about $1000/month currently, which I used to max last year's Roth before April and then focused on this year's.

From Investment Order thread:

0. Establish an emergency fund to your satisfaction Done, $5k in the bank.   
1. Contribute to your 401k up to any company match N/A: grad students don't get retirement benefits.
2. Pay off any debts with interest rates ~5% or more above the 10-year Treasury note yield. No debt.
3. Max HSA Grad students get good health coverage but don't get to choose what kind. Thus, no HSA.
4. Max Traditional IRA or Roth (or backdoor Roth) based on income level The step I'm about to finish. Funding a Roth.
5. Max 401k (if 401k fees are lower than available in an IRA, or if you need the 401k deduction to be eligible for a tIRA deduction, swap #4 and #5) Still N/A.            
6. Fund a mega backdoor Roth if applicable. Not applicable, by my understanding.         
7. Pay off any debts with interest rates ~3% or more above the 10-year Treasury note yield. No debt.            
8. Invest in a taxable account and/or fund a 529 with any extra. So here we arrive.