Author Topic: CD's safest bet for security?  (Read 4640 times)

kevj1085

• Stubble
CD's safest bet for security?
« on: July 11, 2017, 04:49:18 PM »
Currently I have a rental property bringing us $11500 a year. Our house is going to be paid off in 5 years and our rental is paid off. I noticed cd rates for 10 years are at 2.4%. I'm not a genius investor, I'm just a elementary teacher and not super aware of nor willing to take all the potential risks involved in other methods of investing. That said, if we could live overly luxurious for our family off 30-32k a year, would it be a good idea once we pay our house off to accumulate 300-450k and put it all in a 10 year cd? Assuming it's around 2.4%, that should bring us in about $10k extra a year, which means we would have about 21k in passive income a year. If my calculations are correct, that'd mean we would really only NEED about 10k in paycheck money for the rest of our lives each year to live our lifestyle. Is this correct? If so, I believe this can be attained by the time my wife and I are 40.

I'm just inquiring to see if my calculations are right or off?

kevj1085

• Stubble
Re: CD's safest bet for security?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2017, 05:49:14 PM »
This isn't a plan to retire by 42, just a plan to have a good sized passive income to incorporate into our work pay. We would still have money in savings and would be making enough by work. I'm just curious if my math is correct and if CDs are considering safe in the long run I guess.

bobechs

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2017, 06:05:55 PM »
CDs issued by FDIC insured banks are also insured, up to $250000. (not the 300-400K you want to sock away but you can split the money among multiple accounts)

So, if the issuing bank fails, the depositor is fully protected against loss up to that amount.

Very safe against that one kind of risk.  Inflation? As noted, no protection and some risk of losing money via that event.