Author Topic: Canadian stay at home mom looking for beginners investing advice  (Read 2065 times)

Islander

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello!

We are a 30 year old couple with 2 young children. Newborn and 2 year old. My husband and I don't earn much but he is super frugal and Iam myself working on it.

I have about 40k in a tfsa account and $7500 in a family resp. Iam able to save about 1200 a month to invest from the Child tax benefit.

I know I should keep up with the saving. I have a lot to learn so Iam just reading as much as I can at the moment but would like some advice or feedback.

We have no debt, house and car paid off. We're able to save 40% of our income. We are a low income family. Iv never opened a rrsp because iv always been in the low bracket in income.

I'm looking into CCP option 1: tangerine investment plan.

Or should I just invest my money with GICs? Seems like the only thing I really understand... are gics no good? Obviously you can tell I'm very new at this investing thing.

Thanks! Any help would be really appreciated. I feel so fortunate to have found this forum. I would love too continue staying at home and raising my children until they go to school.

Heckler

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Canadian stay at home mom looking for beginners investing advice
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2017, 06:39:54 AM »
https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Bogleheads®_investment_philosophy

Copy and paste the link. Stupid (R)

Heckler

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2017, 06:41:44 AM »

Retire-Canada

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2017, 09:52:02 AM »
It's worth reading this even though it's a US perspective: http://jlcollinsnh.com/stock-series/  The general investing advice he gives applies north of the border.