Author Topic: Canadian short-horizon investing (~5 years)  (Read 5499 times)

StarswirlTheMustached

• Bristles
Canadian short-horizon investing (~5 years)
« on: November 15, 2012, 11:59:02 AM »
I've 30k or so currently earning 2% interest in a savings account, which, while nice and safe, won't make me rich. I also plan on starting to put money into a TFSA at 3%, which at least should (hopefully) keep up with inflation, but I can't drop my mini-mustache there.  I'm totally new to any kind of investing. Any suggestions what I should do with the money? We'll be needing it to purchase property in 4 or 5 years, so I want something fairly safe and am willing to put up with a non-stellar return to get it-- just higher than 2%, if possible.

KMMK

• Handlebar Stache
    • Meena Kestirke Insurance
Re: Canadian short-horizon investing (~5 years)
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2012, 04:48:45 PM »
By TFSA at 3% do you mean a GIC? Around here we can only get 3% by locking in for 5 years. I'm more comfortable with 2% fully accessible for short term savings. Why isn't some of your 30k already in a TFSA? TFSA can be any type of investment and we're up $20,000 per person now, so I'd start with getting a TFSA savings account set up.

swiper

• Bristles
  • swiping
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2012, 05:10:21 PM »
I've got a TD e-series account. You can see the options here: https://www.tdcanadatrust.com/products-services/investing/mutual-funds/td-eseries-funds.jsp?tab=what-does-td-offer Perhaps one of the Income funds?

And yes, TFSA account type is well suited for this purpose.
« Last Edit: November 15, 2012, 05:11:54 PM by swiper »

StarswirlTheMustached

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2012, 07:49:47 AM »
I was under the impression that you could only put a small amount per year into a TFSA. Or does it just become taxable if you go over the limit?
The 3% does not seem to be locked in--it's a savings account from Peoples Trust Company.