Author Topic: Canadian Late Beginner - RRSP & RESP questions  (Read 4070 times)

Wannabe Mustache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Canadian Late Beginner - RRSP & RESP questions
« on: March 07, 2014, 06:38:03 AM »
Hi.  I've been reading MMM for about a year.  I've also purchased several books based on recommendations here, most specifically Millionaire Teacher by Andrew Hallam & Wealth Ed - Money Management for Ontario Teachers.  I've also read some other blogs like Canadian Couch Potato. 

Obviously, I am an Ontario teacher so I have my pension plan.  I am almost 44 years old and I have been a money ignoramus until the past year. 

I started teaching at 32 so I can't get full pension until March 2029 when I can retire with a net monthly income of $2917.  I (sadly) have only $4,481 in an RRSP at Standard Life.  This was money my employer gifted me because our local union bargained away the retirement gratuity (exchanged for not using sick days).  In the end, all teachers lost that last year so whatevs.  I chose Standard Life because my employer recommended it.  I had no idea what the costs were until now - each fund (there are 4) has a MER of at least 2.35% (OUCH). 

Since I've been a money ignoramus and my DH is much, much worse than I am (not with spending but with earning & saving - he has absolutely no savings and he turns 60 this month) I have a mortgage of just under $140,000.   No other debt. 

I have twin daughters who are 7 years old.  I have a family RESP that is through Scotiabank (I can't see the costs on the statements) that holds $16,840.  Right now I'm investing $200/month in it but I know I have to up that and I need to maximize the CESG skillfully (I read a post about it on another Canadian site). 

I have learned that I should be investing in ETFs and that my asset allocation for my RRSP should be roughly 60/40 stocks/bonds (for now - I believe it changes as I get older).