Author Topic: Canada allocation -- why so much Canadian equity?  (Read 2956 times)

justification

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Canada allocation -- why so much Canadian equity?
« on: May 14, 2017, 07:16:58 PM »
The advice for a passive allocation of equities for Canadians seems to be 30% Canadian/30% US/30% other developed/10% emerging.  I'm just starting out, but this seems odd to me.  Why is so much weight put into Canadian equities?  The tax perks of Canadian dividends doesn't seem like a good enough reason to me.

I'm thinking about scrapping Canadian equities altogether and using a 60% US/30% ex-us developed/10% emerging allocation.  Does anyone else in Canada do something like this, or is there something that I'm missing as far as the benefits of loading up on Canadian equity?

joonifloofeefloo

• Magnum Stache
  • On a forum break :)
Re: Canada allocation -- why so much Canadian equity?
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2017, 08:37:28 PM »
Hey justification,

I'm in Canada, am a fan of Canadian Couch Potato, and had this question too. I asked CCP about it (somewhere on their site!) and also printed out a bunch of years' return rates as posted on it. I found that in enough years, Canada's stocks rocked it, and made this allocation absolutely the way to go. I've since comfortably run with it. I think what CCP said, essentially, and what I found when reviewing years, is that Canada has sucked a bit recently, but in the "longer short term" (20 years) it's proven the right way to go. Not just tax-wise, but rate of return wise.

human

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2017, 12:41:52 AM »
I don't get it either Canada makes up less than 5% of world markets. I went with 15% VCN and 85% VXC. Last year was a good year for Canadian but I'm not switching every time some part of the world does better than another. I suppose tax efficiency is a reason for the high weighting but I find our economy is to focused on energy and the big banks.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2017, 12:54:54 AM by human »