Author Topic: Can someone explain TIPS to me please?  (Read 11994 times)

vieja

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Can someone explain TIPS to me please?
« on: June 13, 2013, 08:11:48 PM »
I posted recently that we are finally debt free.  I am looking for a very safe place to start investing money.  I always thought I would simply buy Cds and I bonds but well, even I understand what a poor investment that is these days.

Ok so will you please, in very simple English, explain what Tips are?  I don't understand how you earn interest on them or if they are a better choice than Cds.  I'm brand new to this shit and very, very ignorant.  I have spent all my time obsessing about debt payment and now I need to learn to use my new found cash to create a comfortable retirement.

I should add that dh would prefer that we have all our money stashed under the bed and to hell with banks/financial institutions/stock market/ etc.  No risks are going to be taken by the two of us regardless of how foolish that sounds to all of you.  (I know, I know!)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Can someone explain TIPS to me please?
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2013, 08:33:33 PM »
TIPs are a security instrument you purchase.  They pay a fixed interest rate, and the face value of them fluctuates with inflation, so it is automatically inflation adjusted. 

I'm not sure what exactly you don't understand, as they're very straightforward.  I'm guessing you just haven't looked up what they are?

Here's some basic links:
http://www.investopedia.com/terms/t/tips.asp
http://www.treasurydirect.gov/indiv/products/prod_tips_glance.htm
http://money.cnn.com/retirement/guide/investing_bonds.moneymag/index6.htm

Once you read those, please post any questions you have about what you don't understand and we can explain, I'm sure.  :)
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.