Author Topic: Can Non-Resident Aliens open IRAs?  (Read 37257 times)

nanu

• Bristles
Can Non-Resident Aliens open IRAs?
« on: February 20, 2015, 04:11:12 PM »
I have a taxable account with Vanguard and called them up to open a Roth IRA for 2014,
and they said that because I'm a Non-Resident Alien (I'm a student on F-1 visa) I can't open an IRA.
However, I'm now chatting up Fidelity and they said there's no problem...

Anyone know what's up with that? I'd rather open the IRA with Vanguard (since my taxable account
is with them, and my [future] employer 401K will be with them as well) so that my accounts won't be fragmented as much.

rpr

Re: Can Non-Resident Aliens open IRAs?
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2015, 07:38:03 PM »
I have a taxable account with Vanguard and called them up to open a Roth IRA for 2014,
and they said that because I'm a Non-Resident Alien (I'm a student on F-1 visa) I can't open an IRA.

Anyone know what's up with that? I'd rather open the IRA with Vanguard (since my taxable account
is with them, and my [future] employer 401K will be with them as well) so that my accounts won't be fragmented as much.
I get the general feeling that Vanguard is pretty finicky about "phoren" peoples. Even US citizens residing abroad have difficulty with Vanguard.

My understanding is (and I'm neither a CPA or Tax expert) that you can contribute to an IRA if you have any earned income reported to you on a W-2. If you get fellowship and or scholarship income that is unearned and not reported via a W-2, then you cannot use that income for contributing to an IRA. But, that fellowship or scholarship income may still be considered taxable (and unearned) income.

If you leave the US after graduating, then there maybe issues with taxation depending on the country you move to. That is something you may have to consider.

nanu

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2015, 08:15:10 PM »