Author Topic: Calculating the ROI on Solar Panels  (Read 2430 times)

iainafro

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Calculating the ROI on Solar Panels
« on: March 13, 2017, 05:11:28 PM »
Hey All,

Personal finance newbie here, but face-punches for being deep in the pool of ignorance welcome.

I'm trying to calculate the ROI on solar panels. The challenge I'm having is with inflation. I don't know how to take it into account.

Here's the calculation:

ROI = (Gain - Cost)/Cost.

Gain is the energy savings for 25 years. (I'm assuming a 25 year solar panel lifetime.)
I've factored in for example, performance decreases on the panels, electricity price rises and the likes. But for simplicities sake:

If the solar panels save $800 a year, every year for 25 years, assuming 3% inflation, I take off 3% every year to the cumulative earnings.

Year 1: 800
Year 2: (Year 1+800)*0.97
Year 3: (Year 2 +800)*0.97
Year 4: (Year 3+800)*0.97
Year 25: (Year 24+800)*0.97

My question: Is this the right way to factor in inflation?

It seems to me that by Year 25, I shouldn't be adding in $800, because it will be able to buy a lot less goods, so it should be lower if inflation adjusted. Or maybe I'm overthinking things.

I'd really appreciate any help!
Cheers!
Iain

maizefolk

• Walrus Stache
Re: Calculating the ROI on Solar Panels
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2017, 05:41:23 PM »
If I understand what you are trying to do, then no, you'd want to do the opposite.

Let's say your electricity bill is $800 this year, but you completely replace it by buying solar panels. If the cost of electricity is inflating at 3% per year, then next year you'd have had an $800*1.03= $824 electrical bill, but you don't, because you already paid for solar panels the previous year.