Author Topic: deleted  (Read 5561 times)

henders

deleted
« on: November 24, 2015, 03:26:59 AM »
deleted
« Last Edit: June 26, 2017, 09:24:47 PM by henders »

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: calculate percentage return in Excel
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2015, 03:32:47 AM »
On my phone, so can't do the excel formula, but just google time value of money excel for it.

This site I use for quick calcs when I don't want to use Excel:
www.zenwealth.com/BusinessFinanceOnline/TVM/TVMCalculator.html

I get an 8.72% ROR required to hit 1.5MM with 100k now, 40k annually added for 15 years.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

P0IS0N

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2015, 03:42:19 AM »
I got 8.07 on moneychimp.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2015, 04:19:50 AM »

IDK what that is, but this is a simple math problem, no like an opinion thing.

8.7245% is the correct answer, not the 6% from the OP's podcast, and not the 8.07% from moneychimp.  :)
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Aphalite

• Bristles
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2015, 06:42:50 AM »
Excel formula is:

=RATE(15,-40000,-100000,1500000)

you can also do positive 40k and 100k and negative 1.5m, as long as the signs are opposite - Excel assumes you're taking the $1.5m out immediately