Author Topic: Bubble in Margin Investing?  (Read 2113 times)

gpyros85

• Stubble
Bubble in Margin Investing?
« on: May 30, 2018, 03:40:13 PM »
Seen this chart today! The margin debt is able to sustain itself since the market is relatively stable, however this chart shows if there is a correction it will be VERY severe... More severe than tech bubble and the great recession!

gpyros85

• Stubble
Re: Bubble in Margin Investing?
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2018, 04:13:39 PM »
Can you explain it to me like I am 4? haha

It simply shows that people are investing in stocks with borrowed money. With rising rates and if there is a pull back in market prices, there will be a margin call where the investors will not be able to meet then force sell. Thus, unloading shares and with few buyers being able to be there to purchase.

solon

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2018, 07:40:34 PM »
I'm no expert, but it looks like the Top is In.

Indexer

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2018, 07:50:02 PM »
Markets trend up over time. In a normal market there is margin trading. As markets hit all time record highs, which is natural over time, margin trading will also hit records over time. That isn't surprising.

Nothing to see here.

Quote from: gpyros85
It simply shows that people are investing in stocks with borrowed money.

Margin is also used for shorting and hedging strategies. Risk parity strategies in particular are much more common than they were 20 years ago. In other words, a lot of the leverage out there right now might be hedging against a down market.  ;-)
« Last Edit: May 30, 2018, 07:52:29 PM by Indexer »

MustacheAndaHalf

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2018, 11:05:59 PM »
I'm not convinced either way.