Author Topic: Brand new and learning. Dealing with student loan debt and investing in RRSP..  (Read 6293 times)

ptgearguy

• Stubble
Hi guys, I am a working professional as a physiotherapist in Canada. I currently am at 54000 in student loan debt and am working hard to pay that down ASAP. Now I was wondering is if I should put money into RRSP at the same time. It will delay the speed of the loan but I could get some tax breaks. I gross approximately 80k and am single.

Second, I really do not understand how RRSP really work and the best types to invest in. Im looking for a good source of information to help me with that when the time comes.

I really appreciate any help I can get.

nobodyspecial

• Handlebar Stache
You can put 18% of your salary in an RRSP each year and you get that amount knocked off your income as far as tax is concerned.
You pay tax when you take it out - although you can take it out at any time.

If you didn't contribute the maximum then any extra accumulates for future years. So there is a strategy of wait until you are a higher earner  where the tax saving is bigger, but you will have lost out on any gains your investments would have made.

It can be invested in stocks/bonds/anything - take a look at Tangerine's investments, probably simpler than doing it yourself and is only 1% fee compared to most bank's 2.5%. You can transfer it to another holder later.  See canadiancouchpotato for more details.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2015, 06:52:41 AM by nobodyspecial »

lostamonkey

• Bristles
What's the interest rate on your student loan debt?
What province do you live in?

Once you answer these two questions we will be able to provide recomendations as to if you should contribute to an RRSP first or pay off your student loans.

Heckler

• Handlebar Stache
Start here while you pay off your loans.   Read every article he's written, and try to find his book "Guide to the perfect portfolio".

http://canadiancouchpotato.com/category/indexing-basics/