Author Topic: Bond Market - The “Most Overpriced, Oversupplied, Over-owned Market in History”  (Read 11257 times)

Joet

How is this doomsday scenario any different than the pending govt debt catastrophe I've been reading about since the 80s? So we are super serial it's going to pop this time? 2015-16, got it. /sets watch

I'm an amateur investor in the total bond market [like many here] and the things I watch for are any changes in policy from foreign central banks. The move away from US treasuries will require stability in other regions. My understanding is that the ECB, BOJ, and most 1stworld nations are all in a printing spree at the moment and nobody knows when/if it will ever be able to stop. A similar argument could be made to be extremely bullish in treasuries for this very reason [indeed, it is priced into the bond market today]. Will this change? Perhaps? In 3 years? Maybe.

Reminds me of every doom/gloom scenario I've been reading since the middle of Reagans first term [when I was barely literate, heh!]. "THIS TIME ITS DIFFERENT! I REALLY REALLY MEAN IT!" :)

[I mean no offense OP]
« Last Edit: May 01, 2013, 12:06:35 PM by Joet »

daverobev

• Magnum Stache
The question is, WHEN will bonds start going back to normal... and, where will the money from them, go?

Stocks? Or gold? Bit of both, bit of real estate..

Maybe the US will just go 'bankrupt', have hyperinflation, and be ok. Seems to have worked ok for Iceland...

Or perhaps corporate America will buy up the rest of the country. I reckon those who hold a lot of US debt are probably going to lose money, anyway.

KingCoin

• Pencil Stache
  • Achieved FI @ 30
The bond market may well be overpriced, but anytime some trots out the "America is just like Greece" argument, I have a very hard time taking them seriously.

tomsang

• Handlebar Stache