Author Topic: bond convexity  (Read 1670 times)

kenmoremmm

• Pencil Stache
bond convexity
« on: November 01, 2019, 09:46:17 PM »
i'm a complete noob with bonds. i understand some of the general concept. came across tyler's post about convexity:
https://portfoliocharts.com/2019/05/27/high-profits-at-low-rates-the-benefits-of-bond-convexity/

it seems, if i understand it correctly, that there is room for significant performance in bonds, even with our current low interest rates, due to appreciation. i had naively thought that holding bonds in today's bond market seemed foolish, but now am more intrigued.

to take advantage of convexity, assuming rates continue to trend down, even negative, can one just be invested in a bond fund (short, medium, long term?) or is it better to hold actual coupons? if in a bond mutual fund, would this be a rare case where it'd make more sense for active management to take advantage of short term drops?

chasesfish

• Magnum Stache
Re: bond convexity
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2019, 05:32:27 AM »
I've been doing this for six months.  Most of my (30%) bond allocation is in long term treasuries. 

The most appreciation with declining rates comes from long term, zero coupon bonds.

Next are just the straight 30 year treasuries with coupon payments.

Then the ETFs like VGLT and TLT.

I've bought them all, pros and cons to all.   The zeros appreciate the most, but the bid/ask spread is a little wider with my brokerage (Fidelity).

This was a great post:  https://www.physicianonfire.com/zero-coupon-treasury-bonds/

Radagast

• Magnum Stache
  • One Does Not Simply Work Into Mordor
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2019, 04:32:57 PM »
it seems, if i understand it correctly, that there is room for significant performance in bonds, even with our current low interest rates, due to appreciation.