Author Topic: Bill McNabb, CEO of Vanguard Interview  (Read 6856 times)

AdrianC

• Handlebar Stache
Bill McNabb, CEO of Vanguard Interview
« on: November 20, 2015, 11:02:55 AM »
Good interview podcast:

http://www.ritholtz.com/blog/2015/05/mib-bill-mcnabb-ceo-of-vanguard-group/

McNabb is thinking investors need to have realistic return expectations, which he quantifies as:
Stocks 6-8%
Bonds 3%
60/40 Portfolio 5-5.5% less 2% for inflation, real return of 3 to 3.5%

People need to save more for retirement.

I (and Bogle) think he is quite optimistic with his stocks return guess. Good interview, though. Vanguard is a great company, that's the impression I get from the guy.

Yankuba

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Bill McNabb, CEO of Vanguard Interview
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2015, 01:14:06 PM »
Glad to see this is catching on. I also project 6% equities, 3% bonds and 2% inflation. Not that I am an economist or quant. People really will need to save a lot more money or they will have to increase their compounding time.

PharmaStache

• Bristles
  • Peg City 'Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2015, 03:21:35 PM »
This is freaking depressing, considering that when I started saving (at the age of 18-20), I had all of my money in a high interest savings account making over 5%.

Yankuba

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2015, 03:24:36 PM »
This is freaking depressing, considering that when I started saving (at the age of 18-20), I had all of my money in a high interest savings account making over 5%.

LOL - that wasn't too long ago. Maybe 2006/2007? Back then you could earn $50K on $1mil in savings, risk free. Today you earn $10K on that same $1mil. Even munis are only yielding in the twos.

Yankuba

• Handlebar Stache

Retire-Canada

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2015, 06:27:48 AM »
Good interview podcast:

McNabb is thinking investors need to have realistic return expectations, which he quantifies as:
Stocks 6-8%
Bonds 3%