Author Topic: Beginners Q: What to do with $100K? reading material and stocks v's real estate  (Read 4465 times)

peace99

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hi all,

A bit about me. 37 years old. Spent years getting into debt and then paying down debt (and getting a good education and building a solid career). Finally saved enough to buy a house (a year ago). Made a wise job move 6 months ago (doubled income). Just set up (and maxing out): 401K, Roth IRA and HSA.
Looking forward I’ll have approx $100K a year to invest (post 401K, Roth IRA and HSA)

A few beginners Q…

1. Stocks vs housing: My original plan was to buy a rental property ASAP but in the North East (where I live) I can get nowhere near the 1% rule. Am I better going the stock market route? (at least to get my investing ball rolling?)

2. What is a good beginner’s book on investing? I have a MBA and understand the basic principle of the stock market and company valuations. But how do I put this into practice?

3. What is the best way to invest the $100K?
         Investing in stocks: Reading about the stock market makes me nervous that we are at a high and it will crash shortly. Do I want to  lose a chuck of that $100K?

Thanks

matchewed

• Magnum Stache
I'll actually answer this backwards as that is what seems to make sense.

You should lay down a solid foundation if you plan on going the stock market investment route. That foundation would be primarily in index funds as you research and learn more about investing.

Investing in stocks: Reading about the stock market makes me nervous that we are at a high and it will crash shortly. Do I want to  lose a chuck of that $100K?