Author Topic: Beginner Questions (Maybe you know the answers?)  (Read 4260 times)

Gatzbie

• Stubble
Beginner Questions (Maybe you know the answers?)
« on: May 17, 2016, 03:29:55 PM »
I'm brand new to investing and have decided to use this thread for any questions that pop into my head as I learn more and more. Instead of making a new thread for every time I have a new question, I will just post them here! If you can offer your experience or perspective, I would greatly appreciate it, I READ ALL POSTS and am thankful for each one of them!

SEE LAST POST for most recent questions! :)

Overall, I'm just starting to invest money (I'm 21 currently) and will be pursuing early retirement for my long-term goal.  I'm trying to figure out how to go about this but am getting confused by the plethora of information out there (I'm trying to keep thing as simple as possible)

Current status:  I just set up a Vanguard Roth IRA account and have 5k to invest. 

Questions: 

1.)  I can buy 2 audiobooks.   For Book #1 what would you recommend for me to buy that could teach me everything about index investing (asset allocation between bonds and stocks, rebalancing, taxes, the best indexes to put money into etc.)  No need for lectures on why index investing is better but if its a mix of this and teaching about index funds, I'm cool with that.

For Book #2  A good book about everything there is to know about renting out properties.

2.)  On Roth IRA's you can only contribute so much per year to them,  what if I have more money I want to use to invest?  Should I make a "General Savings" account on Vanguard and put more money into indexes here but will be taxed more? (One post I saw on here, many people  have tons of different account types!)

3.)  If there is some sort of penalty for taking money out of your Roth IRA (before age 59.5) how does this workout if I want to retire early?    Nvm  forummm has a post on this