Author Topic: Australian Investment Advice  (Read 10275 times)

Pyrmont

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Australian Investment Advice
« on: September 13, 2016, 06:43:52 AM »
Hi,
it's my first time posting but I've been lurking here a long time. I've been planning to invest/save using what I've learned here for a long time but have procrastinated for a variety of reasons. I'd really like to get started and would appreciate some advice.

My ultimate goal obviously is financial independence but at the very least, I'd just to like to start saving and investing wisely to build a nest egg.

I'm 33, Irish but based in Australia for the foreseeable future. I'm currently working part time , partly because we've recently had our first baby but I'm hoping to increase my hours soon. I'm currently working 3 days and roughly making $70k p.a. after tax. I have a balanced super account with AustralianSuper, with very little in it - ~$10k so I know I need to step that up as well. I have pretty low expenses ( e.g. cycle to work etc ) and am trying to get them even lower again.

Myself and my partner are currently renting with a view to likely buying in the next year or 2. She sold her unit a couple of years ago and that income, which is in a long term deposit, will likely be used for the bulk of our mortgage/mortgage deposit.

I have ~€50k in an Irish bank account earning next to nothing and I plan on transferring that to my Australian accounts. I also have about $70k in an easy access online savings account.
My plan would be to start using a Vanguard fund of some description.