Author Topic: At 28 yo, Passive versus Active, or mix of both?  (Read 9985 times)

$$Nystagmus$$

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
At 28 yo, Passive versus Active, or mix of both?
« on: October 25, 2014, 10:15:45 AM »
Hello

First post here. Very impressed with the great wealth of knowledge I have found on this forum.  Relatively new to the investment game, and would love some advice.

At this point, I have both a Simple IRA and Roth IRA set up that I have been feeding money into for the past year.  Both are AmericanFund mutual funds, following the AmericanFund 2050 Retirement plan.  I do not max out on these, but I do take full advantage of the 3% match from my employer, which goes into the Simple, and put about $250/month in the Roth.  I work with a financial planner who recommended the funds.

I only started learning about Vanguard and Indexes about 3 months ago.  Didn't take any financial courses through college, and parents didn't have much knowledge in finances themselves. 

My thoughts are to keep the two IRA's with AmericanFunds, but also purchase the Vanguard Total Market Stock Index, and start a Roth or Traditional IRA with that. 

When I asked my financial adviser, he said the Vanguard versus our AmericanFund is very similar in terms of diversification.  I pushed a little more, and he said that when the market does poorly, often active funds do better, but if the market is doing well, indexes often out perform, save for those few active managers who actually beat the market.

What are your thoughts on having both an active funds as well as passive?

Thanks for your time

aschmidt2930

• Bristles
Re: At 28 yo, Passive versus Active, or mix of both?
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2014, 10:25:54 AM »