Author Topic: Article: Why Real Estate Returns Are Higher than Stocks, Bonds and Mutual Funds  (Read 68199 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2012/09/29/why-real-estate-returns-are-higher-than-stocks-bonds-and-mutual-funds/

Nothing new for anyone experienced in real estate, but for newbies looking to compare returns, this article is a good place to start when trying to understand where your real estate returns come from (appreciation being only a small part).
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Aurora

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I agree. I've invested in property over the years and shied away from the stock market as I understand property and where you make profit. Never bank on appreciation it is a nice bonus if it happens but positive monthly cash flow is the only reason to invest in property and make real returns.

Another Reader

• Walrus Stache